Sisterly Love


It was around this time last year when I got pregnant with Alex. For a child who was only 2 years and a few month old, Leah seemed to understand. As my belly grew so did her infatuation with her new sibling. When we found out the baby was a girl and decided on her name I remember everything she did  was “for baby Alex” She played baby Alex music on her xylophone, sang her songs, and hugged my belly. Everywhere we went she would point to my belly and say “That’s my baby sister!”


It was most definitely love at first sight when Alex was born. She always wanted to be around her. She never showed much resentment or jealousy. For the first few weeks after she was born Leah would exclaim “She was in your tummy, but she now she come out!!!”


And the love is mutual. As soon as Alex could track things with her eyes she would watch her sister. I am already predicting that as soon as Alex can move she will be getting into whatever her sister is doing.

I’m sure there will be fights. There will be  times their love for each other isn’t so vocal. And don’t even make me think about having 2 teenage girls. But my prayer for them is that they’ll always love each other deep down. That they’ll take care of each other.  That they will be there for each other in ways I can’t be.


Their dad and I can’t always give them every material gift that we wish we could, but we gave them each other. I hope they never take that for granted.

Leave a Reply

