I want to be more like my 3 year old


One of the greatest joys as a parent is watching my children interact with the world around them. My 3 year old has such an enthusiasm for life that it is contagious. She gets excited about going to the store. She gets excited about trips to the park. She gets excited about going out to eat at a restaurant. 

 But what she loves the most is other people. 

When we are at the store she she always talks to the cashier and other people along the way. When she plays at the park the other kids are already friends before she even meets them. When we are out to eat she often makes the waitress laugh and smile. 

Oh how different this is from the way I’ve come to interact with the world around me. If I go out by myself I’ll be polite but I won’t make an effort to speak with anyone. Making friends is intimidating and scary to me. I’ve been hurt before. I know not everyone out there is kind hearted. I’ve let what others have done or could potentially  do change the way I act. 

I want to be more like Leah. I want to remember that the people around me are the most important part of the errands I run. I want to not let the bad in the world make me “grumpy” as she would say. I want to show others God’s love the way my 3 year old does already without even trying. 

One thought on “I want to be more like my 3 year old

  1. I am reminded this morning as I read your blog that there is good reason Jesus said,
    “Let the little children come to me…..for such is the kingdom of heaven.” (paraphrase by me)
    great picture of our beautiful little girl!!

Leave a Reply

