At 6 AM


My kid woke up at 6 am. I begrudgingly got up to take care of her. After a diaper change and drinking most of her bottle she fell asleep. 

At only 2 months old this baby already happily sleeps on her own in her bassinet. The moments I’ve sat with this one sleeping on my chest have been far less than with her sister. Back then everyone told me to enjoy it. That it would go so fast. Easy for them to say I thought. They’re not the ones up in the middle of the night or early in the morning. 

But they were right. Of course they were right. 

I look at my 3 year old and wonder how on earth we got to this point. When did she stop sleeping on my chest and making sweet baby noises? When did her babbles turn into full sentences? When did she become too big for me to carry around all the time?

In the thick of it things seemed to last forever. Like the phase where she threw everything on the floor constantly. Or the one where she wouldn’t say in bed. But from this perspective it seems to have all just been the blink of an eye. 

I should have listened to all those well meaning moms and grandmas who told me I would feel this way.

So I’m going to hold this baby before her sister wakes up. Even though 6 am is earlier than I’d like to be awake. I’m going to study her little features. I’m going to touch her soft fuzzy head. I’m going to listen to her little baby noises. And I’m going to remember that this doesn’t last forever. 

Leave a Reply

